Pumpkin Cornbread (gluten free, vegan)

Image

There’s half of the cornbread left- it smelled really good and tasted about as good. It was a little complicated to make because I don’t have any baking powder so I had to google how to make a substitute for baking powder from baking soda. I found one here http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Substitute-Baking-Powder where you use vinegar and a little less baking soda than baking powder. I also took the recipe form http://www.thehealthymaven.com/2013/11/pumpkin-cornbread-gluten-free-vegan.html and substituted a few things and added some spices to make the delicious cornbread posted above. It is oil free, can be made soy free, not too sweet and refined sugar free. 

1 c brown rice flour 

1c corn meal 

10 packets stevia (I had those raw, stevia packets that the ingredients are dextrose and stevia) 

3/4 tablespoon baking soda 

1 tablespoon organic apple cider vinegar

1/2 cup (plus some) puréed pumpkin (I used a largely mounded scoop)

3/4 cup soymilk+1/4 water (i used sweetened soy milk, if you use an unsweetened milk here add more stevia) 

1/3 cup water with 2&1/2 tbsp chia seeds jelled 

Pumpkin pie spice and vanilla extract

I only had to bake mine at 350 for 10 minutes because of the pan I used, which is pictured above. I am not sure what size pan it is but I call it a brownie pan. 

Leave a Reply

